Malaysia: East Malaysia immigration requirements and practices

Feb 2017

Immigration laws in Malaysia are governed under the Immigration Act, 1959/63 and apply to both West and East Malaysia that together form the Federation of Malaysia. Nevertheless, to protect the rights and interests of its people, the state governments in the East Malaysian states of Sabah, Sarawak, and the Federal Territory of Labuan retain a relatively higher degree of local government autonomy, resulting in the adoption of different immigration requirements and practices by the immigration authorities.

The purpose of this Insight is to highlight current immigration practices in the East Malaysian states and how companies can ensure compliance and avoid unnecessary deployment delays of employees/ assignees to these states

Contact us

Hilda Liow
Executive Director
Tel: +[60] (3) 2173 1638

Follow us